- About Object Versioning
- Locking a Version of an Object
- Usage Report
- How Object Versioning Affects...
About Object Versioning
This function allows users to have access and the ability to reuse up-to-date versions of objects (attachments or pictures) whenever needed. Any updates to the original master file are automatically reflected in every instance.
With object versioning, users can now lock to a specific version of the master file. This means that a writer of a section can prevent updates to the master file from affecting the picture or attachment in that specific section.
When editing a picture or attachment, you will see a tab called File Versions. File Versions shows all files used for that object, the date it was uploaded, the file name, the current status, and the user who uploaded the file. You can also lock to a file version on this tab. For more, see Locking a Version of an Object.
A benefit of object versioning is that pictures and attachments in projects are now locked to the current version whenever that project is marked as finished. This means that your finished projects will accurately reflect what you published. For more on this, see Finishing Projects.
Locking a Version of an Object
On the File Versions tab, you can choose to lock to any previous version of an object. Locking to a specific version means that the object won’t update, even if the master file is updated. To lock a picture or attachment to a specific version, click on Lock to this version.
To unlock, click on Always use latest version. The object will be updated whenever the master file is changed. This is the default for objects in projects that are not finished.
The usage report shows all sections where a picture or attachment has been reused. This information lets users know which sections will be updated if the master file is changed. The report shows if the project where the object is used is finished or not, as well as the lock status of the object. If the lock status shows that an object is locked to a specific version, that object will not be updated if the master file is changed.
The usage report can be accessed by right-clicking on an object in search and selecting the option to view its usages, or by selecting the Access Control tab on the Edit Master File window and clicking the green highlighted text displaying the number of sections where the object is currently being used.
How Object Versioning Affects...
This section explains how tasks in XaitPorter are affected by the object versioning features.
- Finishing Projects - When a project is finished, all pictures and attachments will lock to their current version.
- If the project is no longer marked as finished, all objects will remain locked. You will need to unlock all objects you want to update to the latest file.
- Copying - When a section containing an object is copied, the lock status of the object is also copied.
- Restoring - When restoring an older version of a section in the View/Compare Sections window, the lock status of all objects in that section will be revert to the same version as the section being restored. If the object was not locked, the section will be restored with no lock and the latest version of the object will be used.
- When restoring a section with an older version of the master file, and the picture or attachment is reused elsewhere, a new master file will be created. This is to avoid affecting the other usages of the picture/attachment when restoring a section.
- Duplicating - Users have the option to create new master files for objects when duplicating by selecting the options Duplicate pictures and Duplicate attachments. By deselecting these options, the objects in your project will not be duplicated and instead an instance of the original master file will be used.
- If a user chooses to create new duplicates of objects, the version currently in use will be the one that is duplicated. If a user chooses to not make duplicates of objects, the instances will be copied as they are.