Frames are areas containing images, text, or colors that are applied to a Page Style in the Layout Template. Editable Frames are frames that can have their content altered by users on the project or document level. This allows for layout templates to contain areas that can be updated with images, text, or color fields and don't have to appear in every project using that layout template.
For example, layout templates can be designed to have areas for watermarks, signatures, logos, or footer taglines that can be changed on the project or document level. These editable frames can be updated without Template Designer system rights, which adds even more flexibility to XaitPorter projects.
Previously, template designers created a layout template with the images, text, and colors that were then used in every project where that layout template was applied. If a user wanted to change an element in the layout template for only one project, an entirely new layout template would need to be created. The new Frames tab, which replaces the old tab called Header & Footer Frames, lets template designers create frames that can be updated on the project and document level. There is now an option on every frame to Lock Frame – Disable Editing. Deselecting this option allows users with access right to modify that frame.
The Lock Frame – Disable Editing option is selected by default. This means the frame cannot be updated by end users.
How to Update Editable Frames
Editable frames can be updated on the project and document levels. Updating the frames for the project will update all documents in that project with the change. Updating a document’s editable frames will change the frames only for that single document (and override any changes made on the project level).
Change Frame Content:
- Click Project or Document in the document workspace
- Select Editable Frames
- Click Edit next to the frame you want to change
- Select the Override Default Content option
- Update the picture, text, or color for the frame
- Click OK
All existing frames in layout templates will be set to Lock Frame - Disable Editing by default.
Two new project permissions have been added:
- Edit frames on project
- Edit frames on document
The permissions are added to the Project Coordinator role by default, including existing systems. Individual systems can have modified project permissions, if needed.
Frame values cannot be updated on the project or document level once a project is marked as finished. Note, however, that frame content can still be updated through the layout template in finished projects. For more, including best practices for modifying layout templates, see Modifying Used Frames.
Duplicating Project and Documents
When duplicating a project or document where frames are overridden, the overridden frame values are also duplicated. For documents, the values are only active if the destination project has the same layout template.
Switching Layout Templates
Changing Layout Templates through Project Settings
If you change layout templates on a project, all values for editable frames are saved. If that layout template is applied again, the editable frames will show up with all updates. For example, if you have a document with several editable frames and the layout template is accidentally changed, you will not lose all of your work. All updated values for editable frames will be kept once the original layout template is applied to the project again.
Changing Layout Templates through Export Options
Editable frames cannot be updated for any layout template not applied in the Project Settings. To update editable frames if an alternate layout template is selected in the Export Options, the alternate layout template will need to be applied first on the project level. Then, any frames can be updated. To update editable frames for an Alternate Layout Template, do the following:
- Click Project from the black menu in the document workspace
- Click Edit Project
- Select the layout template you want to use as an Alternate Layout Template from the Layout Template dropdown
- Modify any editable frames you want to update (see How to Update Editable Frames)
- Click OK
- Reapply the original layout template on the Edit Project menu
- Select Export from the black menu in the document workspace
- Click Export Options
- Select your layout template from the Alternate Layout Template dropdown
- Click OK
Modifying Used Frames
If a template designer deletes a frame that has been updated on a project or document, a warning will be shown letting them know the frame has been updated in a project. Since editable frame values are retained for layout templates even if not currently applied to a project, the warning might still appear even if the layout template isn't currently used in a project.
Locking a Frame for Editing
It is possible for template designers to lock a frame that has been updated. When doing so, the template designer receives a message alerting them that the change will affect existing projects. If they still choose to lock the frame, the content they set on the layout template will be exported for every project using that layout template.
Best practice is therefore to:
- Duplicate a template before making a change
- Archive the old template, to ensure that values are intact for existing projects
- Use the duplicated template for future use